Thugs and the Women who Love Em

Lets get into it. Another day on the celebrity circuit and we are hit with a new play filled with has beens, was beens, and ain’t beens!

Thugs and the Women who Love Em

Where do you go when the hood is all you know? That’s the question facing four friends as they navigate the sex and crime filled streets of the only home they’ve ever known.

Lisa wants out, desperately. Not just out of her neighborhood but away from the men that rule it. She’s had enough of the hustlers and pimps and drug dealers who offer nothing but short term pleasure…and long term pain.
Shawn? Please…she ain’t goin nowhere. The hood is where Shawn belongs and she’s definitely not afraid to show it. She runs game with the best of em and is quick to take advantage of any hustler who makes the mistake of thinking she can be played.
Kelly and Candace are tired of the hustlers and the thugs and all of the drama they bring. What they can’t let go of is the way these dudes put it down in the bedroom. They call it “Thug Love” and the two of them can’t get enough.
Four different perspectives from four extraordinary women who’ve built a sisterhood through some very difficult times. Now, one by one, each of them will be asked to choose between the men they love and the life they want. Are they really four strong, independent, black women ready to write their own story and be the stars of their own lives? Or are they destined forever to be nothing more than co-stars in somebody else’s script…nothing more than Thugs and the Women Who Love Them.

No shade, the cast isn’t the worse, we just don’t know how we feel about these individuals on stage. This could have possibly been better in a film format. Nevertheless, will you be going?

Tue, Oct 3, 2017 – Oakland, CA – Paramount Theatre

Thu, Oct 5, 2017 – Oakland, CA – Paramount Theatre

Fri, Oct 6, 2017 – Sacramento, CA – Memorial Auditorium

Sat, Oct 7, 2017 – Los Angeles, CA – Dolby Theatre

Sun, Oct 8, 2017 – Los Angeles, CA – Dolby Theatre

Sat, Oct 14, 2017 – Atlanta, GA – The Fox Theatre

Sun, Oct 15, 2017 – Atlanta, GA – The Fox Theatre

Sat, Oct 21, 2017 – Detroit, MI – Fox Theatre

Sun, Oct 22, 2017 – Detroit, MI – Fox Theatre

Sat, Oct 28, 2017 – Dallas, TX – Music Hall

Sun, Oct 29, 2017 – Dallas, TX – Music Hall

Sat, Nov 4, 2017 – Sugar Land, TX – Smart Financial Centre

Sun, Nov 5, 2017 – Sugar Land, TX – Smart Financial Centre

Fri, Nov 10, 2017 – Chicago, IL – Arie Crown Theater

Sat, Nov 11, 2017 – Chicago, IL – Arie Crown Theater

Fri, Nov 17, 2017 – Brooklyn, NY – Kings Theatre

Sat, Nov 18, 2017 – Brooklyn, NY – Kings Theatre

Wed, Nov 22, 2017 – Philadelphia, PA – The Liacouras Center

Thu, Nov 23, 2017 – Philadelphia, PA – The Liacouras Center

Fri, Nov 24, 2017 – Baltimore, MD – Lyric Opera House

Sat, Nov 25, 2017 – Baltimore, MD – Lyric Opera House

Sun, Nov 26, 2017 – Baltimore, MD – Lyric Opera House

If you go, email us and let us know how you liked it. 

One thought on “Thugs and the Women who Love Em”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s